Commodities of the Abstract Sort

a hopefully-less-pretentious-than-other-pretentious-music-blogs music blog

Peter Bjorn and John Monday February 19, 2007

Filed under: misc. good non-local music — Kayla @ 11:27 pm

peterbjornandjohn1.jpg

 



I somehow managed to stay totally oblivious to Peter Bjorn and John (or PB&J as I like to call them) until just recently. They are from Sweden and have been around since 1999. Most recently, their song “Young Folks” has been featured on Grey’s Anatomy and has been a top 40 hit in the UK. I have to admit, the thing that drew me to them first was their album art, nothing will get me to pay more attention to your album than well designed art. Once I listened to their music though, it became clear that they deserved my attention. They manage to be both catchy and just a little bit different than anything else I’ve ever heard. They sound a bit like Interpol, but with lighter, more poppy melodies and more electronic effects. Be careful with these songs because I guarantee they will end up stuck in your head for days at a time, which I suppose is better than having something like the Best Pop Performance of 2006: My Humps (Honestly….) stuck in your head. Useless fact of the day: there are no commas in Peter Bjorn and John (which is a combination the three member’s first names) because they didn’t look good in the font used for their first record. What did I say about having good album art….

[mp3] Peter Bjorn and John-Young Folks

[mp3] Peter Bjorn and John-Amsterdam


 

Official Site | Myspace | Buy Writer’s Block

 

Leave a Reply

