Commodities of the Abstract Sort

a hopefully-less-pretentious-than-other-pretentious-music-blogs music blog

Oh How I Love Menomena Saturday March 10, 2007

Filed under: local-ish,music videos — Kayla @ 1:14 am

menomena.jpg



I know, I know, it’s kind of a cop out to just post another video…but cut me some slack: this week I took 2 midterms, wrote 3 papers, did a presentation, played the same concert 7 times, and spent 4 days on a bus WITH BAND KIDS. Plus, this is a good’n.


I didn’t think I liked Menomena until my friend/neighbor Caitlin called and requested them during my radio show every single day for like 3 weeks. After hearing “Wet and Rusting” approximately 12,000 times they kind of grew on me. For those of you living under a rock, Menomena are a trio out of Portland which has recently been getting a lot of attention. Their music regularly involves a bari sax and piano and that’s pretty much all you need to know. Their latest album Friend and Foe has the most ridiculous cover art I’ve ever seen. There is no track listing anywhere on the packaging and there are cryptic numbers and song titles on the actual CD. Only after much annoyance about having to look up title information on the obscenely slow radio station computer did I figure out that if you put the CD in the case and close the cover the song number and title show up through holes in the cover artwork. Genius.


Anyway, This video, for the aforementioned “Wet and Rusting”, is el oh el funny and it involves lots and lots of typewriters, so you really can’t go wrong.

“Wet and Rusting” video


Official Website | Myspace | Buy Friend and Foe

 

Leave a Reply

