Commodities of the Abstract Sort

a hopefully-less-pretentious-than-other-pretentious-music-blogs music blog

Dead Heart Bloom Friday May 25, 2007

Filed under: misc. good non-local music — Kayla @ 7:16 am

dead-heart-bloom.jpg

 

Dead Heart Bloom is a band (I have a feeling it’s a “band” in the sense that people like Bright Eyes and Badly Drawn Boy are “bands” with only one person in them) out of New York led by Boris Skalsky. His music has an orchestral quality, with lush piano and and guitar arangements. He uses multiple tracks of himself singing to get intricate and compelling harmonies (this is what Elliott Smith does too). The first time I heard his latest album Chelsea Diaries it immediately stuck me as something that would have sounded right at home in the 1960s, with shades of late Beatles peaking through every once in a while. But then there are also little snippets of Beck in there too, so there is something for everyone. No two songs sound the same, the album goes from rockin’ Beck-ness to a slow, pretty song with full string arrangement and the best part is that this drastic transition doesn’t sound weird like you might expect. Unfortunately the two best songs on Chelsea Diaries would cause the FCC to maybe send a strongly-worded letter if I played them on the radio, so I’m giving them to you instead. You can download both Chelsea Diaries and Dead Heart Bloom’s self-titles debut album for FREE DOLLARS at his website and I would strongly reccomend you do so because there is nothing better than (legally) free music…except perhaps (legally) free music that is actually good.

 

[mp3] Dead Heart Bloom-New York City Heat

[mp3] Dead Heart Bloom-Chelsea Song #2

 

Official Site | Myspace | buy/download Chelsea Diaries

 

pssssst: I have it from a reputable source that Andrew Bird is coming to Bumbershoot (my reputable source is the Andrew Bird newsletter, not some shady indie-music deep throat). I also have it from a not quite as reputable, but still classically reliable source that Les Schwab Amphitheater will regain some indie cred by hosting the Shins before/after Bumbershoot and Spoon/The Dandy Warhols/some other bands that my source had never heard of in another Summer Camp (the last Summer Camp was my first ever concert and is still in my top 5 concerts of all-time…you might say I’m a little pumped about another one, especially another one involving Spoon, who are also in my top 5 concerts of all-time). High five, Les Schwab Amphitheater! I’m sorry to have ever doubted you.

 

One Response to “Dead Heart Bloom”

  1. Dead Heart Bloom is an amazing band. They are so underrated. I must say Boris Skalsky is extremely talented. Chelsea Diaries is just phenomenal.


Leave a Reply

